The former monastery, probably built by D. Teresa, adopted the Cistercian order at the end of the 13th century, thus integrating the area under the influence of Santa Maria de Fiães. Evolving with immense difficulties, it was transformed in 1441 into a parish church, returning to the order 1497. In 1560 it was already in an advanced state of neglect, so it is secularized, and its income is integrated into the College of S. Bernardo de Coimbra. Currently, some of the architectural structures of the Romanesque church and subsequent alterations carried out in the Modern Period still exist. In its original form it would be a church with three naves and a apse with three quadrangular chapels. The original Cistercian plan was not completed, probably due to the economic difficulties of the local community, so what we see today is mainly the result of works carried out in the 18th century. The collateral nave was removed, leaving only the chapel's triumphal arch (visible from the outside), and the sacristy on the opposite side was adapted. On the roof, one of the original elements of the Cistercian project is visible, of important significance, consisting of the Romanesque rose window, an illuminating element of the central nave. Some of the decorative elements of the cantilevers and capitals are fully integrated into the typical Romanesque style of the Minho basin, but the entire general architectural plan of the work is exemplary of the typical model used by the Cistercian order. In the south zone, some arcades belonging to structures in the regular area of the monastery can be seen.