top of page
The Confraria do Espirito Santo, responsible for the work, was established in the town in 1549, starting the construction of the temple in 1647, which was completed in 1681. The building is an element of Mannerist tradition, with an exterior remodeled in the century XIX, according to a model of neoclassical sobriety. The interior is notable for the examples of carving and painting from the end of the 17th century and the following century, as well as the remarkable examples of carved pulpits, attributed to the Arcuense artist Manuel Gomes, and based on original plans by the painter Álvares Coast.
bottom of page